A journey to find out life wants to live

Remembering the days of joy, not so long ago
Those memories just increase grief as I watch the withering of beauty
– The hour Of Death, Reverend Bizarre

For you who has followed this blog from early days (that would be maybe one or two including myself) knows that it all started out as a journey for myself. This journey is far from over but a huge part of the reason for my entries has been to try and grasp and put into words what I learn on my way of rediscovering my place as a human being on this planet and of my place in this human created power hierarchy we call civilisation.

Over the years now I’ve managed to read quite a few books on various topics. From the problems (and the understanding) with agriculture to the problems (and understanding) of civilization, to problems (and the understanding) of patriarchy. All in all I would say it all comes together and fits the same dynamic of civilization and what civilization is and stands for; a hierarchy of power and a central ‘force’ is male violence which is used to sustain itself. I, for many years never felt satisfied with my place and, well, even though my understanding as to why that was (and is) has become better I feel more alienated than ever while at the same time also feeling like I am coming home. Home to the side of the living.

There is no doubt to me that the dominant culture, the root of what has created industrial civilization, is insane and most of its members also. I look back at me as insane. I am probably also valued as insane by a whole lot of people out there for arguing the way I do in regards of these topics and thoughts. Nevertheless, there are however voices out there who are arguing that they believe civilization has to be dismantled. And I for one believe they are correct. That sounds a bit tough don’t you think? And does it mean what one might think it means? Well, I don’t know about you but I find these words of American philosopher Derrick Jensen–a man that I have found myself quote every now and then on this blog–sums it up really well ”…to deprive the ability for the rich to steal from the poor and to deprive the powerful from their ability to destroy the world”. I agree with that wholeheartedly.

When you take a stand with the living over our ”human right” (Civilized humans I might add. Indigenous humans has always been seen as not fully human and are usually a ‘mild’ inconvenience that stands in the way of ‘our’ resources) to drive/ride cars, to fly/ride planes, to build golf courses, to vacuum the oceans, to build nuclear power plants, to build atomic weapons, to force atoms to jump through hoops on command, to create plastics, to turn the living into dead commodities. Basically to take a stand against the ‘right’ to violate others and to take resources to sustain a way of human living that never can be sustainable since its fundamental basis is violation, you are met with plenty of mean looks and nasty comments and right out contempt and hatred. It’s my understanding that the dominant culture and most of its members are anti-life–not necessarily consciously–looking at the collective mind of us civilized and what that group thinking creates around us. It really do become the best term I can think of to sum it up.

This culture–the dominant culture in which I and the overwhelming majority of human beings in the ‘developed’ world are born into–will not stop until it has consumed as much as it can, and it won’t take no for an answer when people say this needs to stop. It has to put it mildly gone off the rails.

Television makes us sick–for a book that takes a deep dive into this and that forever has changed the way I look at technology, read 1978s Four Arguments For the Elimination Of Television by Jerry Mander–and the internet makes us sick. These technologies themselves stems from an already in place mental sickness, I believe, which the hopi people called the wétiko. A book that takes a deeper look at this, is Columbus and Other Cannibals By Jack D. Forbes for those who are unfamiliar with the concept, I never heard of it until I stumbled upon this book. The global economy makes us not only sick, it also murders people on a daily basis. So called ”debt repayment” from ‘developing nations’ to ‘developed nations’ is on its own killing people daily. Other ways of how the wétiko manifests itself can be found in the despicable sex industry. In Kajsa ‘Ekis’ Ekmans brilliant book Being and Being Bought: Prostitution, Surrogacy and the Split Self we get a powerful and brilliant analysis of the horror and madness of (mostly) us men’s purchase of sexual ‘services’ and the inequality this rests upon between the sexes or the ”buyer class” and the ”sex worker class” if you will. But that is not something we shall talk about. You see, someone who actually take a stand to disrupt for example mining or sexual exploitation (or take your best pick of exploitation) has to be to silenced. Don’t disrupt the superior belief that everything around us, including ourselves, exist in so far it can be violated.

We are told we have the right to voice our opinions–sometimes not even that depending on what you say and where you live and it even breaks down to which sex you are born with as I see it–you are however not allowed to try an make a real change! Move along people! There are skies, oceans, soil and living beings (human beings incl.) that must be exploited! You don’t like it ? Well,  go watch some TV or better yet hang out on the internet in one of they many, many ”social” places that resides here. Whatever you do don’t ever recognize what happens in the real physical world were all of us actually live and don’t you dare falling in love with the world, with life. It might be so that you might actually start fighting back and that you are not allowed to do! Horror and shame on you if you dare take a stand for women, for children, for (sane) safe spaces, for living oceans, for clean water, for clean soil, for the dismantle of destructive institutions for our own species.

On a side note I have to mention that if feminist theory has taught me something–or rather helped me understand it more deeply and how it manifests in industrial society–it is the share ruthlessness of male violence that exists everywhere. It’s kind of ironic the numerous times I’ve been a victim of it myself (there is a post somewhere on this subject on its own) yet not seen it because it is so normalized in this culture that it renders invisible before our very eyes, yet, the effects are felt and seen daily. From economic to religious to personal. The wétiko among us human males is today global. Add to this that we are entering the trashing endgame of industrial civilization. It will come down either by itself or if someone manage to bring it down and it won’t be nice to have plenty of us men spoon fed this dominant aspect of life, an aspect most of us men (and women too sadly even if women to a greater degree are the receivers of it) take for granted as a natural state of behaving. ”You exist only in so far I can violate you” is the mantra of this culture, a culture manifesting itself as a lifestyle of making communities into dead commodities. All made possible by widespread male violence for the most part.

My understanding of the world I live in, my own place and what I can do, is a journey that most likely will continue for a long time–read for as long as I live. The struggle to maintain a kind of sanity in an ever collapsing civilization and in an ever increasing insane culture that has its members going completely off the rails will be a challenge. Thankfully there are some seriously good people out there whom also was born within the framework of the dominant culture and on a similar path. So one is not alone.

This machine beast was put together by (male) humans and it can be dismantled by humans, well, all of the living can do it and in fact plenty of species are daily doing their fair share to dismantle civilization. Give grass room to breath and to live and they can break apart asphalt. Give fungus room to live and they can break down concrete.

Life wants to live, I have learned that.

grass-ur-asfalt

Det här inlägget postades i Main Category och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

